Prairie Land Teachers Ratify Three-Year Deal

Prairie Land teachers have voted 83 per cent in favour of accepting a memorandum of agreement for the 2004/05, 2005/06 and 2006/07 school years. The vote was conducted September 13 at a general meeting at J C Charyk School in Hanna.

The memorandum, which has also been ratified by the school board, provides teachers with salary increases of 2.79 per cent in the first year, 2.64 per cent in the second year and 2.98 per cent in the third year. The board’s share of teachers’ benefit premiums will rise from 90 to 95 per cent by the end of the three-year agreement.

Doug Lerke, chair of the teachers’ negotiating subcommittee, says the memorandum allows teachers to maintain their financial position relative to their colleagues elsewhere in the province. “It’s an acceptable deal, and we are pleased this round of bargaining is behind us,” he says.

The 127 teachers employed by Prairie Land Regional Division provide educational services in schools in Altario, Cessford, Consort, Delia, Drumheller, Hanna, Morrin, Veteran and Youngstown.